CD Hawaiian Song Bird


Customer Rating (0) Submit a Review

Lena Machado

This 17-track anthology CD accurately portrays the life of a true Hawaiian legend, Lena Machado. The recordings span 1927 to 1962 –- from the performer known as the “Hawaiian Song Bird”.
Lena Machado’s lyric soprano voice delighted audiences for almost half a century. Those incomparable vocals, her more than 60 lifetime compositions, and her innovative arrangements, remain as treasures for succeeding generations.
The extensive liner notes document each composition, provide biographical information, and offer rare previously unpublished photographs.

Na Hoku Hanohano Awards :: 1998
Anthology Album of the Year
Liner Notes

(Tracks with sample are bold.)

  1. Na Lei O Hawai`i
  2. Kamalani O Keaukaha
  3. Ho`onanea (1935)
  4. Mai Lohilohi Mai Oe (1935)
  5. Kauoha Mai (Keyhole Hula 1935)
  6. E Ku`u Baby Hot Cha Cha
  7. Holo Wa`a Pa
  8. Ei Nei
  9. Holau
  10. Ku`u Wa Li`i Li`i
  11. Ho`onanea (1962)
  12. Mai Lohilohi Mai Oe (1962)
  13. Moani Ke Ala Ona Pua Makahikina
  14. Kauoha Mai (Keyhole Hula 1962)
  15. U`ilani
  16. Kaulana O Hilo Hanakahi
  17. Mom