CD Gabby


Out of stock


Gabby Pahinui
1991, 1972

To fans of slack key guitar, this album is affectionately known as Gabby Pahinui’s “brown album”.
When Gabby was asked in 1971 to record a new album with family and friends, this innovator of Hawaiian slack-key guitar (ki ho`alu) jumped at the opportunity. The result was one of the most celebrated recordings in Pahinui’s career.
Helping Gabby on this project were his sons “Bla” (James), Phillip, Cyril, and Martin — along with longtime friends Manuel “Joe Gang” Kupahu and Leland “Atta” Issacs. The music itself was full of Gabby’s wonderful guitar playing and his unique, soulful voice.
All of today’s Hawaiian music groups owe a great debt to Gabby Pahinui and this album.

(Tracks with sample are bold.)

  1. Medley
    Hi`ilawe (recorded 1947
    Luau Hula
  2. Lihue
  3. He`eia
  4. Ka Makani Ka `Ili Aloha
  5. Lei `Ohu
  6. Royal Hawaiian Hotel
  7. Keawaiki
  8. Leahi
  9. Wai O Ke Aniani
  10. Ka`ahumanu
  11. Lei Nani
  12. Lei No Ka`iulani
  13. Ka Moa`e Atta Isaacs
  14. Hula O Makee
  15. Hame Pila
  16. Medley
    Hi`ilawe (recorded 1972)
    Aloha `Oe

Additional information

Weight 0.3 lbs